Obviously, by looking at this beautiful image of cake, some of the TNH readers might be wondering where is the gluten free food here? Well guys, actually this is a gluten free cake.
Food is a cornerstone of our Indian culture. You can find people raving about the alluring foods in every alley of the country. A wide array of tangy and spicy dishes lures every taste bud throughout the country.
We often skew towards the taste but what about gluten? What are the options for the celiac people in India?
Here we will find out answers to such questions. But before that let’s understand what is gluten and why we need to take a diet with gluten free Indian foods.
What is gluten and why should we avoid this?
Glutens are the type of storage proteins that are normally found in cereals such as wheat, barley and rye. They are formally known as prolamins and offer culinary benefits such as soft and chewy texture.
Incorporation of gluten can adversely hamper celiac individuals. It may damage the gut lining which can trigger poor nutrients absorption leading to significant digestive discomforts. Hence a diet with gluten free Indian foods is recommended for such individuals that invigorate the body, helps in weight management, and keeps the other ailments at bay.
Celiac disease is an auto-immune disorder leading to damage in small intestine’s lining caused by eating gluten present in wheat, barley and rye.
On the other hand, Celiac ataxia is a rare auto-immune disorder that affects nervous system functions on eating gluten. Studies claim that these diseases may occur in genetically predisposed people.
One thing that everyone can feel is that these diseases have become quite common as 1 in every 100 among recent generations. Our forefathers never faced such disorders as they had a hard-working lifestyle and used to consume organic crops but not genetically modified crops like us. However, the exact cause is still unknown.
Although we can’t ignore gluten from our daily lives but surely can minimise or avoid as prevention is better than cure. A gluten free Indian foods diet is our best saviour in this scenario.
For the people with ailments such as gluten ataxia, celiac disease, wheat allergy, non-celiac gluten sensitivity it is recommended to incorporate a diet with gluten free Indian foods in their daily routine.
Moreover, a diet loaded with gluten can also affect the digestive system of non-celiac individuals.
- Paneer Nutrition & 7 Best Health Benefits
- A Guide to Balanced Diet
- 7 Popular Superfoods around the world
7 Best Gluten Free Indian foods
We have seen how gluten can hamper our body and why should we avoid this. Now let’s look at the 7 best options like gluten free Indian foods for you.
Rice is an integral part of our daily diet. Especially in the southern part of the country, people adore their rice bowl like anything. But does rice have gluten? Let’s find out.
Generally, rice is gluten free. It includes every variety of rice such as brown, white, long, short, fragranced, or non-fragranced. So if you are buying unprocessed rice you don’t need to fret about the gluten. However, you must check the label for gluten free as fast cooked or precooked rice might host gluten.
Paneer (Cottage Cheese)
Paneer is like a sugar coating which adds charm to every occasion. Be at a wedding ceremony, a birthday party, or any other festival it is an integral part of every function. The spicy paneer tikka makes our mundane day an extravaganza. But is paneer gluten free?
The answer to the above question is absolutely yes. The Indian cheese or paneer is perfectly safe for gluten intolerants. So yes, you can enjoy your mutter paneer or paneer tikka without fretting about gluten and its side effects.
Rajma (Kidney Beans)
We really adore our mom’s magical rajma, don’t we? The mouth-watering rajma imbued in spicy gravy makes us eat 2 more chapatis or consume an extra bowl of rice. But have you ever wondered, is your favourite rajma gluten free?
Yes, rajma doesn’t contain any gluten protein. So, it makes or tasty food healthy as well. However, you must watch out dishes served in restaurants as they might blend rajma beans with the gluten-containing ingredient.
Oats are considered the healthiest grain on the planet. We incorporate this super grain in our morning diet to stay lively for the whole day. They host indispensable vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants that are linked to a plethora of amazing health benefits such as weight loss. They also avert the risk of heart disease and lowers the blood sugar level. But are oats gluten free?
They are naturally gluten free but may possess an infinitesimal amount of gluten. The reason for their gluten content can be cosiness with wheat or barley infield, or even in transportation. That’s why celiac individuals sometimes avoid oatmeal.
Jowar is one of the staple foods in our country and an integral part of a variety of recipes such as chila, roti, dosa, etc. These delicious grains are loaded with high protein, iron, vitamins, and minerals which are linked to a plethora of amazing health benefits. But have you ever wondered if jowar is gluten free?
If you are a gluten intolerant and incorporate jowar in your regular diet then thumbs up. You are on the right track as jowar is gluten free and proffers amazing options for your meals.
Poha is an indispensable part of our morning breakfast. It is a dish made from flattened rice fried with turmeric, chilli powder, onion, mustard seeds, and more alluring ingredients. But is our favourite breakfast poha gluten free?
Yes, the easy to cook and tasty poha is gluten free. It is a great alternative to gluten imbued breakfasts and extremely healthy for celiac individuals. The gluten free bread can also be an ideal choice of breakfast.
Dal (Pulses or Lentils)
Dal is an extremely versatile staple food in India. A wide array of popular dishes incorporating dal is available in different households. Some of the popular dal dishes are dal tadka, dal fry and dal makhani. It is ubiquitous in the country and an integral part of our lunch. But is Indian dal gluten free?
The tempting dal options are loaded with protein and are absolutely healthy for celiac people.
Gluten free Indian foods: All in all
Here we have discussed what is gluten and why it is advised to avoid diet containing gluten protein. Also, we have seen the 7 best gluten free Indian foods that we should incorporate in our regular diet. Other than these, there are options of gluten free cake that can be used on occasions like birthday or anniversary. Since north Indians heavily depend on Rotis, the gluten free flour will be a great option to enjoy the gluten free cakes and bread.
If you find this article helpful or have any queries or suggestions. You are most welcome to drop a comment below.